Dark ​Entries 0 csillagozás

Robert Aickman: Dark Entries

Aickman's 'strange stories' (his preferred term) are constructed immaculately, the neuroses of his characters painted in subtle shades. He builds dread by the steady accrual of realistic detail, until the reader realizes that the protagonist is heading towards their doom as if in a dream.

Dark Entries was first published in 1964 and contains six curious and macabre stories of love, death and the supernatural, including the classic story 'Ringing the Changes'.

Robert Aickman (1914–1981) was the grandson of Richard Marsh, a leading Victorian novelist of the occult. Though his chief occupation in life was first as a conservationist of England's canals he eventually turned his talents to writing what he called 'strange stories.' Dark Entries (1964) was his first full collection, the debut in a body of work that would inspire Peter Straub to hail Aickman as 'this century's most profound writer of what we call horror stories.'

Faber and Faber, London, 2016
256 oldal · puhatáblás · ISBN: 9780571311774

Várólistára tette 1

Kívánságlistára tette 2

Népszerű idézetek

fbdbh I>!

'You're an artist, Mel. You can't expect to be a success at the same time.'

Hasonló könyvek címkék alapján

Aleister Crowley: The Drug and Other Stories
Robin Ince – Johnny Mains (szerk.): Dead Funny
Mark Samuels: Written in Darkness
Mike Ashley (szerk.): The Mammoth Book of Short Horror Novels
Chris Priestley: Christmas Tales of Terror
Neil Gaiman: Smoke and Mirrors
M. R. James: Ghost Stories of an Antiquary
Algernon Blackwood: The Willows
Angela Carter: The Bloody Chamber and Other Stories
Stephen King: Just After Sunset