Before ​We Were Yours 9 csillagozás

Lisa Wingate: Before We Were Yours Lisa Wingate: Before We Were Yours Lisa Wingate: Before We Were Yours

Two ​families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents—but they quickly realize that the truth is much darker. At the mercy of the facility’s cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together—in a world of danger and uncertainty.

Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor,… (tovább)

Eredeti megjelenés éve: 2017

>!
Quercus, London, 2018
470 oldal · puhatáblás · ISBN: 9781787473102
>!
Random House, New York, 2017
332 oldal · ISBN: 9780425284681
>!
Ballantine Books, New York, 2017
352 oldal · ISBN: 9780425284681

1 további kiadás


Várólistára tette 2

Kívánságlistára tette 5


Kiemelt értékelések

Naiva P>!
Lisa Wingate: Before We Were Yours

„The truth always comes out sooner or later. … You’re better off knowing about it first.”
Nincsenek gyerekeim, de miközben ezt a könyvet olvastam, úgy éreztem, hogy ha lennének, akkor bizony elzárnám őket a világ elől. Szép, szomorú, szívmelengető történet volt. Elképesztő, hogy az ember, mire nem képes a (nem kevés) pénzért. Nem sok minden borzasztóbb, a gyermekbántalmazásnál. A legrosszabb az egészben az volt, hogy igaz történet alapján íródott. Én örültem a boldog befejezésnek, mert szerintem ráfért a történetre.

5 hozzászólás
lusi P>!
Lisa Wingate: Before We Were Yours

Csodálatos és nagyon érzelmes történet. Bár minden könyv ilyen nagyszerű lenne!

noramaria P>!
Lisa Wingate: Before We Were Yours

Nagyon örülök, hogy egy kihívás kapcsán rátaláltam erre a könyvre. Először nem akartam elhinni, hogy igaz történeten alapul, aztán megtudtam, hogy szó szerinti emberkereskedelem zajlott Tennessee államban 1930 és 1950 között.
A narratívára biztos sokan azt mondanák, hogy „túl amerikaias”, és talán igazuk is van, de ez kimondottan előnyére válik. Sokféleképpen el lehetett volna mesélni ezt a történetet, de a szerző úgy döntött, mesterien fogja adagolni a feszültséget, a drámát és a feloldást. spoiler Nem sokat olvasok ebben a műfajban, de ez most nagyon jól esett.


Népszerű idézetek

Naiva P>!

What the mind don’t ’member, the heart still know. Love, the strongest thang of all. Stronger than all the rest.

Naiva P>!

A woman’s past need not predict her future. She can dance to new music if she chooses. Her own music. To hear the tune, she must only stop talking. To herself, I mean. We’re always trying to persuade ourselves of things.

Naiva P>!

Life is not unlike cinema. Each scene has its own music, and the music is created for the scene, woven to it in ways we do not understand. No matter how much we may love the melody of a bygone day or imagine the song of a future one, we must dance within the music of today, or we will always be out of step, stumbling around in something that doesn’t suit the moment.

Naiva P>!

It’s funny how what you’re used to seems like it’s right even if it’s bad.

Naiva P>!

But the love of sisters needs no words. It does not depend on memories, or mementos, or proof. It runs as deep as a heartbeat. It is as ever present as a pulse.

Naiva P>!

Well, that’s one of the paradoxes of life. You can’t have it all. You can have some of this and some of that or all of this and none of that. We make the trade-offs we think are best at the time.


Hasonló könyvek címkék alapján

Lucinda Riley: The Seven Sisters
Amy Harmon: From Sand and Ash
Kate Quinn: The Alice Network
Monica McCarty: The Arrow
Janet Skeslien Charles: The Paris Library
Paullina Simons: The Bronze Horseman
Diana Gabaldon: Dragonfly in Amber
Jojo Moyes: The Girl You Left Behind
Kristin Hannah: The Great Alone
Anita Diamant: The Red Tent