After ​Many Days 1 csillagozás

Tales of Time Passed
L. M. Montgomery: After Many Days L. M. Montgomery: After Many Days L. M. Montgomery: After Many Days

“A ​life may go on without ripple or disturbance for so many years that it may seem to have settled into a lasting calm; then a sudden wind of passion may sweep over it and leave behind a wake of tempestuous waters.”

This sentence from “The Setness of Theodosia” is the keynote to After Many Days: Tales of Time Passed, the fourth collection of L.M. Montgomery stories to be published from those rediscovered by Rea Wilmshurst. The “wind of passion” sweeps through the lives of Montgomery’s characters in many different guises in these tales. It may come when a lover or family black sheep returns home. It may come as the chance to wreak a revenge plotted over decades. It may come as confession welling from a guilty soul. But the endings here are all happy, because the characters in these stories demonstrate the virtues that Montgomery believed in: patience, trust, forbearance, and love; they deserve their rewards.

L.M. Montgomery’s many avid readers have been delighted… (tovább)

Eredeti megjelenés éve: 1991


A következő kiadói sorozatban jelent meg: Lucy Maud Montgomery’s rediscovered short stories angol

Bantam, New York, 1992
290 oldal · ISBN: 055329184x

Kívánságlistára tette 2

Hasonló könyvek címkék alapján

Margaret Atwood: Dancing Girls and Other Stories
Alice Munro: Runaway
Alice Munro: The Beggar Maid
Margaret Atwood: Moral Disorder
Alice Munro: The Moons of Jupiter
Barbara Gowdy: We So Seldom Look on Love
Alice Munro: The View from Castle Rock
Timothy Findley: Dust to Dust
Alice Munro: Selected Stories
Margaret Atwood: Wilderness Tips