Bury ​My Heart at Wounded Knee 0 csillagozás

An Indian History of the American West
Dee Brown: Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee Dee Brown: Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee Dee Brown: Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee

The American West, 1860–1890: years of broken promises, disillusionment, war and massacre.

Beginning with the Long Walk of the Navajos and ending with the massacre of Sioux at Wounded Knee, this extraordinary book tells how the American Indians lost their land, lives and liberty to white settlers pushing westward. Woven into a an engrossing saga of cruelty, treachery and violence are the fascinating stories of such legendary figures as Sitting Bull, Cochise, Crazy Horse and Geronimo.

First published in 1970, Dee Brown's brutal and compelling narrative changed the way people thought about the original inhabitants of America, and focused attention on a national disgrace.

Eredeti megjelenés éve: 1971

Henry Holt, 2001
510 oldal · ISBN: 0805066691
Vintage, London, 1991
512 oldal · puhatáblás · ISBN: 0099526409

Várólistára tette 2

Kívánságlistára tette 1

Hasonló könyvek címkék alapján

James Fenimore Cooper: The Last of the Mohicans
Michael Blake: The Holy Road
Peter G. Beidler: Murdering Indians
Louise Erdrich: The Master Butchers Singing Club
Elizabeth George Speare: The Sign of the Beaver
Wayne Breaux Jr. – Kevin Siembieda: Spirit West
Bil Gilbert: The Trailblazers
Martin Smith: The Indians Won
J. A. York: The Rise of Rachel Stark
David Grann: Killers of the Flower Moon